Categories of axons in mammalian rami communicantes, Part II

Richard E. Coggeshall, Samuel L. Galbraith

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

19 Scopus citations


The Mammalian rami communicantes consist of preganglionic, postganglionic and sensory axons. The present study focusses on the number of sensory axons in the midthoracic rami communicantes in the cat. The conclusions are that the white rami contain approximately 250 myelinated and 200 unmyelinated sensory axons and the grey rami 4 to 5 myelinated and 20 to 25 unmyelinated sensory axons. A previous study determined the numbers of pre‐ and postganglionic fibers in these same rami. Thus the total number of axons in these rami are as follows: for the grey rami there are: (1) 3,000 to 5,000 unmyelinated postganglionic axons, (2) 25 myelinated postganglionic axons, (3) 20 to 25 unmyelinated sensory axons and; (4) 4 to 5 myelinated sensory axons; and for the white rami there are approximately: (1) 1,000 unmyelinated preganglionic axons, (2) 1,500 myelinated preganglionic axons, (3) 2,000 unmyelinated postganglionic axons, (4) 250 unmyelinated sensory axons and (5) 200 myelinated sensory axons. The implications of these findings are discussed.

Original languageEnglish (US)
Pages (from-to)349-359
Number of pages11
JournalJournal of Comparative Neurology
Issue number2
StatePublished - Sep 15 1978

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • General Neuroscience


Dive into the research topics of 'Categories of axons in mammalian rami communicantes, Part II'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this